Chasing a Piece of History

Steven Zammit aims for place in Super Trucks record books

When Steven Zammit crossed the finish line to seal the 2018 Australian Super Truck Championship at Wakefield Park last November, he became a six-time national champion, joining the late Rodney Crick as the most successful driver in Australian truck racing history.

There’s no doubt Zammit has been the dominant force in recent times, and his victory in last year’s championship was as dominant as they come.

However, the off-season break has given Zammit’s rivals a much-needed opportunity to develop their machinery and prepare for a spirited attack upon Zammit’s supremacy.

Of the other entrants, Barry Butwell was one of the fastest drivers last season, and will be looking to build upon a campaign that saw him finish second in the title race in his Mack Superliner.

Shannon Smith also showed glimpses of race-winning speed, while Marcus Prillwitz has been a steady improver since he made his debut in the category in 2014.

As always, the trucks will stage an exciting format complete with some reverse-grid races, in which the fast drivers will start at the rear of the field.

Joining the trucks as a headline category will be an endurance race which has become entrenched in the nation’s spectator track’s annual calendar – the Wakefield 300.

Since it was introduced in 2008, the 300 has produced enthralling storylines, controversy, tales of triumph and despair, and plenty of good old-fashioned racing.

Picking an outright winner is a difficult task, but the Lotus Exige of Bathurst 12 Hour class winners Daniel Jilesen and Adam Hargraves will start as one of the favourites, as will the Hondas of Benny and Jimmy Tran, and BMW M3 of Nick Cox and Adam Gosling, which was unlucky to miss out on an outright win last year after running out of fuel in sight of the chequered flag.

The class battles will be interesting as well; two-time outright winner Adam Burgess joins Maisie Place in a Mazda RX8, while former European Formula 3 competitor Harry Hayek slots into Phil Alexander’s Mazda MX5.

The Super Trucks and Wakefield 300 will be supported by three other categories.

James Burge was the dominant performer in Legend Cars last year – this weekend, his main opposition can be expected to come from Reagan Angel, Rick Christy and Brendon Hourigan.

In Series X3 NSW, Will Longmore leads the championship, ahead of last year’s runner-up Jackson Noakes and Paul Quinn. In the opening round at Sydney Motorsport Park, Longmore finished behind Victorian driver Michael Clemente, who was not eligible for NSW points.

Rounding out the program is Formula Vee – with the absence of regular front-runners like Dylan Thomas and Stephen Butcher, the list of potential winners is wide open.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email