Double Success for Thomas in NSW State Championships

state 5 544_print

Dylan Thomas has claimed dominant victories in both the Formula Vee and Production Touring Car categories in the CAMS NSW State Championships at Wakefield Park on the weekend.

In Formula Vee, Thomas qualified on pole position and led the first two races from start to finish; in the final race, he slipped back to fifth after a slow start, but was able to fight his way back to the front of the field to take the win from Michael Kinsella and Ryan Reynolds.

Driving his CXC Global Racing Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, Thomas qualified on pole position for the one-hour endurance race, topping Sunday morning’s Top 10 Shootout. He was beaten off the line by fellow Mitsubishi driver Daniel Oosthuizen, but was able to shadow Oosthuizen throughout the opening laps.

The majority of the field completed their compulsory pit-stops during a mid-race Safety Car, which was deployed when the championship leader, Matthew Holt, stopped on the side of the circuit with mechanical problems, and this worked to Thomas’ advantage; a swift pit-stop allowed him to gain almost a lap advantage, and he cruised to victory ahead of Oosthuizen and the HSV Coupe of Cary Morsink.

“I’ve had successful weekends before, but this one is pretty special; to win so convincingly in two separate categories doesn’t happen very often,” Thomas said.

Chevrolet Camaro drivers Steven Lacey and Birol Cetin battled for supremacy in the Sports Sedans, Lacey winning the first race before Cetin turned the tables in Race 2. In the third race, the two drivers made contact at turn 10, with Lacey spinning back to fourth; Cetin capitalised to take another win from Chris Jackson (Holden Calibra) and Anthony Macready (Nissan 300ZX).

John Baxter was the winner of all three HQ Holden races; after qualifying in third, Baxter engaged in a thrilling dice with Brett Osborn and Chris Buckley in Race 1, eventually fighting his way to the front. He led all the way in Races 2 and 3, with Osborn and Buckley finishing second and third in all three races.

Formula Ford also produced close racing with Andrew Kahl, Chris Lazarevic, Lachlan Gibbons and Anthony Colombrita all jostling for the lead in each race. Kahl won the first two races but was overtaken by Gibbons at the start of Race 3. Gibbons was able to withstand extreme pressure from both Kahl and Colombrita for the rest of the race, taking the win by just 0.07s at the finish line.

By far the best start of the weekend came from the Mazda RX7 of Paul White in Improved Production Over 2 Litre. White qualified fourth, but an absolute blinder launch in Race 1 enabled him to rocket to the lead by the first corner. From there, he was able to take victory in all three races; Matt Ingram (Mazda RX7) and Michael King (Mitsubishi Evo) were second and third in Races 1 and 2, but problems for both in Race 3 enabled Rod Thorpe (Mazda 808) and Andrew McMaster (BMW E30) to fill the podium positions.

Improved Production Under 2 Litre delivered three different winners from the three races; points leader Justin McClintock took a comprehensive victory in Race 1, but retired with mechanical problems in Race 2, allowing fellow Toyota Sprinter driver Ben Algie to win Race 2.

Algie drifted backwards in Race 3, with the Honda Civics of Mathew Harris and Graham Bohm finishing first and second, and McClintock minimising the damage to his championship campaign by charging from the rear of the field to third.

In their Mazda-powered Ginetta G50, Craig and Adam Burgess won the Production Sports Car one-hour endurance race after a trouble-free run, ahead of Alex Cook/Damien Meyer (Porsche 911) and Glenn Townsend/Anthony Soole (Lotus Exige).

Marcel and Tadros Zalloua led the opening portion of the race, but lost significant time when their Porsche would not restart during their compulsory pit stop; after a lengthy delay, they eventually finished sixth.


CAMS NSW State Championships Round 5 – Results Summary


HQ Holdens

1st. John Baxter – HQ Holden

2nd. Brett Osborn – HQ Holden

3rd. Chris Buckley – HQ Holden


Improved Production Over 2 Litre

1st. Paul White – Mazda RX7

2nd. Rod Thorpe – Mazda 808

3rd. Andrew McMaster – BMW E30


Improved Production Under 2 Litre

1st. Mathew Harris – Honda Civic

2nd. Graham Bohm – Honda Civic

3rd. Justin McClintock – Toyota Sprinter


Formula Ford

1st. Lachlan Gibbons – Mygale SJ07

2nd. Andrew Kahl – Spectrum 012

3rd. Anthony Colombrita – Spectrum 012


Formula Vee

1st. Dylan Thomas – Stinger 015ix

2nd. Michael Kinsella – Jacer F2K10

3rd. Ryan Reynolds – Sabre 2


Sports Sedans

1st. Birol Cetin – Chevrolet Camaro

2nd. Chris Jackson – Holden Calibra

3rd. Anthony Macready – Nissan 300ZX


Production Sports

1st. Craig Burgess/Adam Burgess – Ginetta G50

2nd. Alex Cook/Damien Meyer – Porsche 911 GT3

3rd. Glenn Townsend/Anthony Soole – Lotus Exige


Production Touring

1st. Dylan Thomas – Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X

2nd. Daniel Oosthuizen – Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX

3rd. Cary Morsink – HSV GTO Coupe

Share this post