National Truck Title to be Decided at Wakefield

The nation’s spectator track, Wakefield Park Raceway, will host the final round of the crowd-favourite Australian Super Truck Championship this weekend, with up to four drivers set to battle it out for the title.

Driving his Kenworth T401, reigning Champion Steven Zammit enters the event as clear favourite after winning at Wakefield Park last time the trucks visited the venue in May.

Zammit’s closest challengers appear to be Shannon Smith, along with the Mack Superliner team-mates Barry Butwell and Marcus Prillwitz.

After making his debut in truck racing two years ago, Prillwitz has adapted well to the category and holds a strong top-three position in the standings heading into this weekend.

Spectators will be treated to plenty of truck viewing with the big rigs set to battle it out over a total of six races – three on Saturday and three on Sunday – highlighted by the 10 lap “Super Prix” feature race on Sunday afternoon.

The Super Prix features a full reverse-grid format in which the fastest trucks and drivers start at the rear of the field, and fight their way to the front. It always produces spectacular overtaking moves and thrilling door-to-door racing.

While the trucks are the main attraction this weekend, they will be supported by an assortment of categories including the final round of the Australian Pulsar Racing Association Series, which will consist of a pair of one-hour endurance races, one on each day. Each race will be treated as a stand-alone event, with practice, qualifying and a Top 10 Shootout taking place on both Saturday and Sunday.

A massive 26-car field will participate in the Pulsar finale, which will be worth double points; reigning Champion Dimitri Agathos heads into the weekend with the points lead but will face stiff opposition from Matt Boylan, who has been the form driver in the category over the last few events.

There is also a close contest for third in points with the likes of James Keene, Daniel Smith, Josh Heath and Gene Alexander all in the hunt.

Another series to crown its 2016 champion at Wakefield Park will be the BMW Drivers Cup, in which Geoff Bowles leads reigning Champion Sean Bell by just three points. Canberra drivers Simon Mitchell and Glenn Potter should also be strong on their home turf.

In the Stock Cars, the father-and-son combination of Steve and Michael Coulter have proven the drivers to beat, but will face stiff opposition from the newer TA2 cars, which will be piloted by Ian McAlister and Chad Cotton.

Cotton has also entered the Miniature Race Cars in his Future Racer, where he will battle it out with sparring partner Jase Collins.

The Legend Cars return to Wakefield Park as well with Mick Hebditch and Rick Christy likely to be the front-runners, along with Nathan Predo who made an impressive debut in the category at Winton.

Rounding out the program will be Super TT, in which Endree Saade heads into the weekend as clear favourite in his turbocharged BMW M3.

Tickets are available at the gate for $20 each day for adults, with children under 16 free all weekend.

Schedule available to download HERE.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email