NSW State Race Championships Rd 6

NOT ONLY did competitors have to take on each other, but also the strong winds and biting cold as Winter returned to Wakefield Park in time for round six the NSW State Race Championships.

Headlining the event on September 8-9 was the sixth round of the National Formula Ford Championship where a second and two wins enabled Sonic Racings’ Angelo Mouzouris (Mygale) to win round six and extend his points lead.

Cody Burcher (Spectrum) scored his first race win in the series and finished second overall while third for the round was Zac Soutar (Mygale) and maintains his second place in the championship with a round to go.

Round four of the state HQ Holden Championship was one-way traffic with Brett Osborn well and truly on his way to back-to-back championships following a trifecta of victories.

His nearest rival was Chris Molle who had the early lead in race one before being passed and settling for second. Molle followed through for second in race two, again ahead of Stuart Lillee who managed to relegate Molle to third in the last.

The rapid Supersports category was dominated by Alex Kenny and his Juno. In each of the three outings he accounted for Darren Barlow (Stohr). Peter Clare (Radical SR3) was third in the opener but pulled out on the warm up lap of the second race. Stephen Champion held off fellow Radical racer Paul Braico for third in both race two and three.

All three Formula Race Cars’ events were won by Greg Muddle in his Dallara F3. In races one and two Phil Morrow busily held off fellow Dallara driver Robert Rowe for second despite the latter’s every effort to be past.

Rowe’s persistence was rewarded in the third as he finally found a way by. But this time it was for third. Series points leader coming into round four, Aaron McClintock missed race one, come through for fifth in the next outing and finished second in the last.

The fourth round of the Production Sports Cars encompassed two 30-minute races which Brad Schumacher in his Porsche GT3 Cup won comfortably. Simon Hogg (Lotus Elise) speared off at turn three on the first lap of race one, resumed in last, before coming through to second and was within two seconds of the lead and moments away from the end before retiring with a bent valve.

That race also seen the retirement of Craig Burgess (Ginetta) with steering damage following contact with Justin Levis (Porsche), and Casper Tresidder (Porsche) with front end damage after running off track. Valery Muzman (Lotus Exige) would be a non-starter for race two also, due to an on-going shoulder injury.

For the entire first race Valmont Racing team mates Sergio Pires and Marcel Zalloua duked it out for second and third, finishing line astern with the former just in front. The pair continued their thrilling dice in the second race which was resolved when Zalloua spun at turn two with just minutes remaining. Fortunately, he recovered to again finish third.

In a depleted rollup for the final round of Formula Vees, points leader Aaron Lee won the three encounters over fellow Jacer racer Craig Sparke. In the first two races Lee led all the way before the pair swapped the front running several times in the last.

Stephen Butcher (Stinger) scored two thirds but spun himself down the order where Luke Collett (Polar) was third until a post-race penalty relegated him and Geoff Bassingthwaigh (Thomsen) was elevated.

Improved Production had separate races for under and over two-litre cars. In the smaller capacity class David Williams (Honda Civic) won the first encounter as the front runners fell by the wayside. Harrison Cooper (Honda Integra) went out with a driveshaft failure, Graham Bohm (Honda Civic) stopped with an ECU issue and Ryan Jagger (Holden Barina) went out with a broken gearbox.

Kurt Macready (Nissan Silvia) followed his second place in the opener with a win in race two where Cooper came from the back for second and won the third ahead of Macready and Bohm.

Dramas in qualifying for Michael King (Mitsubishi EVO) didn’t stop him from coming through from 11th to win race one for the over two-litres ahead of pole sitter Trevan Spiteri (EVO) with Peter Hennessy (BMW M3R) third.

King lowered his own class record in the following races as he continued his winning way ahead of Spiteri. Hennessy scored another third but retired from the last with a broken driveshaft which seen Mitsubishis take the top four places through Scott Tutton and Steve Engel taking third and fourth.

Author – Garry O’Brien

Photo Credit – Formula Ford Australia

Share this post