Osborn Delivers HQ National Title for NSW

Brett Osborn has taken a dominant victory in the weekend’s HQ Holden Nationals at Wakefield Park, becoming the first NSW driver to win the national HQ title since 2006.

Osborn won all three of his heat races on Saturday before recording a blistering lap – the fastest-ever for an HQ Holden at Wakefield Park – in Sunday morning’s Top 10 Shootout to secure pole position for the 25 lap final.

In the final, Osborn was never seriously challenged, leading every lap on his way to a six-second victory over Victorian Andrew McLeod, with another New South Welshman, John Baxter, completing the podium.

“It’s been an amazing two days, it’s not very often you have a perfect weekend in motorsport but this is pretty close to it,” an elated Osborn said.

“The car was just superb in every session, and I really wanted to win this title not just for myself, but for the team and for New South Wales.”

Young Queensland racer Brock Mitchell constructed an impressive lap in the Shootout to line up on the front row of the grid alongside Osborn, but fell back in the race, ultimately finishing fourth ahead of Scott Cameron.

Jamie Furness (QLD) was sixth ahead of former Saloon Car Champion Simon Tabinor (VIC), with Andrew Toth (TAS), Chris Buckley and Stewart Spry (both NSW) completing the top 10.

Victorian Warren Trewin was on target for a top five result for much of the race but ultimately retired with mechanical problems, while top 10 contenders Phil Ashlin and John Wise also had their races cut short with technical gremlins.

The HQ Holdens were supported by a non-championship event for Series X3 NSW for Excel race cars, in which several Victorians made the trip north to participate in the event.

Brendan Avard’s interstate excursion was most successful; he won five of the six races including the final trophy race, in which he led home Emily Duggan and fellow Victorian Wayde Griffiths, the other race winner.

The four Superkart races were ferociously contested with Graeme Taplin and Matthew Stockman winning the first two, before Mark Robin came out on top in Races 2 and 3. Leigh Grant was the dominant performer in the non-gearbox class, with victories in all four races.

The Legend Cars staged four sprint races along with a mini enduro and the sprint wins were shared between Mick Hebditch and Glenn Mitchell, before Glenn and son Tom Mitchell teamed up to win the endurance race from Brad and Jason Goulding.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email