SRZ Racing Secures Super Truck Title at Wakefield

Steven Zammit, Brett Dalgish and SRZ Racing have prevailed in the 2016 Australian Super Truck Championship, clinching the title by virtue of winning three of the six truck races at Wakefield Park over the weekend.

Zammit and Dalgish swapped driving duties in their Kenworth 401 throughout the weekend, but had to work hard for their success with Shannon Smith, Barry Butwell and Robert Fern taking the challenge right up to the champion team.

Butwell (Mack Superliner) was particularly quick early in the weekend, qualifying on pole position and leading for most of Race 1 before an injector pump failure caused him to slow on the last lap. After sitting out Races 2 and 3 to diagnose the problem, Butwell was back in action on Sunday and claimed victory in Race 5.

Shannon Smith also scored a race victory, holding out Dalgish by just 0.3s in Race 2, while the other race winner was Robbie Fern, who demonstrated some exciting defensive manoeuvres to bring his Volvo across the line first in Race 4.

Zammit fought back valiantly in the final 10 lap Super Prix to clinch the championship.

“We’ve had a lot of success in this truck and it’s great to be back on top; there was a really strong crowd at Wakefield Park this weekend and we enjoyed putting on a show for them,” Zammit said.

The other headline category of the weekend was the Australian Pulsar Racing Association series, which wrapped up its season with a pair of one-hour endurance races.

The first enduro on Saturday afternoon was won by Matt Boylan, who qualified on pole position and streaked away from the field to take a 12 second victory from Josh Heath and Daniel Smith. The race was marred by a number of drive-through penalties for competitors who exceeded the 40 km/h pit lane speed limit.

Daniel Smith survived a couple of close encounters with lapped traffic to win Sunday’s enduro. Smith also capitalised on the demise of polesitter James Keene, who led early but retired with mechanical problems, and Josh Heath, who ran at the front for much of the race, only to suffer a heartbreaking CV shaft failure just five minutes before the finish.

Smith claimed victory ahead of Boylan and Dimitri Agathos, who secured his second Pulsar Series title.

Michael Coulter (Chevrolet Oz Truck) won the opening Stock Car race, but it was Chad Cotton (TA2 Mustang) who prevailed in the other three races and finished off the weekend with the win in the trophy race ahead of Ian McAlister (TA2 Mustang) and David Hender (Pontiac Stock Car).

Cotton also enjoyed success in the Miniature Race Cars, in which he won all four races from Jase Collins.

The Miniature Race Cars ran in a combined field with the Legend Cars, which produced thrilling racing throughout the weekend between Rick Christy and Liam Heaton. In the trophy race, Christy and Heaton recorded identical race times to the 10,000th of a second, the win ultimately awarded to Christy in a photo finish.

The large crowd was also kept on the edge of their seats by the BMW Drivers Cup, in which there were three different winners from the four races. Brian Bourke won the opener, Glenn Potter won Races 2 and 3, and Sean Bell took out the trophy race to secure his third consecutive BMW Drivers Cup title.

Mark Stinson (Nissan 200SX) won the Super TT category after a weekend-long battle with Endree Saade (BMW M3); Matthew Bloem (Mitsubishi Evo) finished third in all four races.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email