The Last Blast

It has been another COVID-disrupted season for many of the categories that run under the Motorsport Australia NSW State Championship banner, so competitors have turned out in force for this weekend’s last race meeting of the season at Wakefield Park.

The state’s three open-wheel categories will all be in action, with titles to be decided in each.

In particular, the NSW Formula Ford Championship is set for a grandstand finish, with Zach Bates (fresh from a successful run in the Toyota 86 Series support races at Bathurst) and Cameron McLeod tied on points at the top of the standings in the Duratec class.

Tom Sargent is also a contender, sitting just two points behind Bates and McLeod, but has elected to sit out the round after wrapping up the Australian Formula Ford Championship a fortnight ago.

The Kent Class will also go down to the wire, with 27 points separating Scott Tidyman, Josh Cummins and John Pereira.

In Formula Race Cars, Greg Muddle enters the weekend with a 30-point lead over Robert Rowe, while Doug Barry is a further seven points adrift in third; Muddle and Rowe are both in Dallara F3 cars, while Barry is racing a Reynard F4000.

Aaron Lee, Michael Kinsella and John McDonald will do battle for the Formula Vee title, 16 points separating the trio in the 1600cc class; Stephen Butcher has all but wrapped up the 1200cc class and sits an outstanding sixth in the outright placings.

Another title set to come down to the wire is NSW Supersports, which has attracted a healthy field of 21 cars for its final round. Stohr driver Darren Barlow leads the standings on 124 points, but after that it is extremely close, with Ryan Godfrey, Brad Shiels and Nick Kelly sitting on 108, 107 and 106 points respectively.

Shiels will also compete in the NSW Sports Sedan Championship, which has already wrapped up with a commanding 93-point advantage over Scott Cameron. Other rapid competitors in the Sports Sedan ranks include former national champ Birol Cetin in his Camaro, and multiple state champion Chris Jackson in his Calibra.

The Mazda RX8 Cup is led by Ryan Gorton ahead of Marcus La Delle; La Delle’s absence from the event means Gorton is virtually assured of the title.

The program at Wakefield Park will be completed by the APRA (Australian Pulsar Racing Association) and Friends, with the “friend” in question being the Hyundai Excel entry of Tamara Wheeler.

Share this post