Wakefield Park Welcomes Spectators for 2020 Finale

Spectators will be admitted for Wakefield Park this weekend for the first time since March, as eight different motorsport categories prepare to crown their 2020 champions at the final round of the Motorsport Australia NSW Motor Racing Championships.

The fastest cars in action will be the Formula Race Cars, a mixture of pure-bred open wheelers including Formula 3 and Formula 4 cars. In their Dallara F3 cars, Glenn Lynch, Ron Coath and Greg Muddle should figure at the pointy end of the F3 machines, while brothers Adam and Nathan Gotch have entered their F4 cars in the meeting.

Two other open-wheel categories are on the program this weekend: Formula Vee and Formula Ford – both these series will award championships in two separate classes.

In Formula Vee, Aaron Pace holds a 33-point advantage over Craig Sparke in the 1600 Class standings, while Aaron’s father Simon Pace is third on the points table.

In the 1200 Class, Stephen Butcher comes into the weekend with a 20-point margin over Michael Gale, with Grant Cassell third in the points.

Both Formula Ford classes – Duratec and Kent – are led by drivers who have achieved victories in the opening two rounds of the 2020 season. Aboard his CHE Racing Mygale, Tom Sargent has won five of the six Duratec races held thus far, while in the Kent Class it’s Mitch Gatenby who has a perfect score of six race victories.

Grant Doulman heads to Wakefield Park in the prime position to win his first NSW Sports Sedan title since 2013, aboard his late father-in-law’s Ford Falcon. Following some dominant performances earlier in the season, Doulman has built a sizeable buffer over his closest rival, three-time champ Steve Lacey.

The HQ Holden Championship is set for a blockbuster finish, with just eight points separating the top three drivers in the standings. Glenn Deering leads the standings by a tiny two-point margin from Luke Harrison, with David Proglio a further six points adrift in third.

With 150 points on offer across the weekend, Chris Molle, Layton Crambrook and Darren Parker are also in mathematical contention for the title.

Circuit racing rookie Ryan Gorton has been a sensation in Mazda RX8 Cup this season, displaying tremendous speed and winning multiple races. As a result, he comes into the season finale with a solid, if not entirely comfortable 22 point championship lead over Justin Barnes. Lachlan O’Hara is a further 32 points adrift in third.

One interesting addition to the RX8 entry list this weekend is former Super2 Series competitor Marcus La Delle, who makes his return to motorsport competition for the first time since 2006 aboard one of Sam Silvestro’s cars.

The other two categories on the program will stage single-day events. In NSW Supersports, it’s Steve Champion (Radical SR3) who is looking for back-to-back titles, and comes into the weekend 20 points to the good of his GWR Australia team-mate Peter White (Radical SR8), with Nick Kelly (also in a Radical SR8) two points further back.

The NSW Production Sports finale is shaping up as a decider between two Class B entrants, with just four points separating Adrian Wilson/Andre Nader (BMW M4) and Steve Wan/Valery Muzman (Lotus Exige). Also on the Prod Sports entry list this weekend are Nick Kelly (Audi R8) and David Wall (Porsche Carrera Cup car).

Spectator admission will be free both Saturday and Sunday.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email