Zammit Wins Third Super Truck Title

//Zammit Wins Third Super Truck Title

Zammit Wins Third Super Truck Title

Trucks 1_web

Steven Zammit has been crowned the 2015 Australian Super Truck Champion after he finished third overall in the final round of the series at Wakefield Park on the weekend.

After qualifying on pole position, Steven Zammit was shuffled back to fourth early in Race 1, but capitalised on an incident between his title rivals John Hepburn and John Bomberle to finish second behind Barry Butwell.

In Race 2, Zammit powered to victory ahead of Hepburn and Bomberle.

Hepburn won Race 3 with a dramatic last-corner overtaking move on Bomberle, but a conservative fourth place for Zammit was enough to ensure he secured the title with a race to spare.

In the 10 lap Super Prix, it was again Hepburn who prevailed, while Bomberle retired on the opening lap with mechanical problems. The overall round victory went the way of Hepburn, ahead of Butwell and Zammit.

The Modern Sports Cars category staged a pair of one-hour endurance races. The opening race was taken out by Chris Gough in his BMW Z3, ahead of the Mazda MX5s of David Stone and Andy Harris, but the big news was the mid-race retirement for points leader Daniel Reynolds, due to a broken axle.

With Reynolds’ MX5 too severely damaged for the second enduro, a generous gesture from the Targa Racing team enabled him to take to the track in a borrowed car and keep his championship hopes alive.

The second race served up a nail-biting finish, Harris shadowing Stone for the entire race before finally pouncing in the very last corner on the final lap to score his maiden race victory. Gough and Zane Al-Said brought their BMW home third, while Reynolds secured the title with third place.

The Pulsar Challenge also produced highly entertaining racing, with three sprint races followed by a one-hour endurance event at the end of the weekend. Dimitri Agathos took victory in the first two sprint races, with Johnny Rachele winning the third.

Agathos controlled the opening phase of the enduro, emerging in the lead once everyone in the field had completed their compulsory pit stops. However, his race came to a grinding halt just 10 laps from the finish with a mechanical problem, allowing female racing star Tyra Maranik to take the lead.

In another thrilling finish, Maranik held off Rachele in the closing laps to score her first Pulsar Challenge race victory, with Josh Heath finishing third.

Despite the non-finish, Agathos wrapped up the title, albeit with just four points in hand over Rachele.

Also in attendance at the race meeting were the Super TT and Miniature Race Car/Legend Car categories.

Mark Boudib won all five Super TT races in his BMW M3 GTR, with Merrick Malouf bringing his Ford Falcon Ute home second in each race.

Parry Anastakis (Peugeot 205 GTI) was third in the first four races, before Mike Fitzgerald (Honda Civic) claimed third in the final.

For spectators, the highlight was the contest for fifth position between Mark Morsillo (Triumph Dolomite), Roland Rohrle (Maxda RX7) and Andy Harris (Mazda MX5) – the three cars swapped positions many times as the strengths and weaknesses of their cars came into play on different parts of the circuit.

Chad Cotton won the first four Miniature Race Car races before his regular Wakefield and Winton 300 co-driver, Jase Collins turned the tables to win the final.

In the Legend Car class, Greg Davis took overall honours, capitalising on a collision between brothers Regan and Kyle Angel in one of the races.

By | 2017-04-04T21:19:38+00:00 November 23rd, 2015|Uncategorized|0 Comments